What if I just need to reunite my fragmented being?

I was just over at She’s Next, and this nifty post from Lissa Rankin caught my imagination. Particularly this bit:

As a practicing gynecologist, a nationally-represented professional artist, teacher, mother and author of the forthcoming book, What’s Up Down There? Questions You’d Only Ask Your Gynecologist If She Was Your Best Friend (St. Martin’s Press, September 2010, with foreword by Dr. Christiane Northrup, author of Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom), Lissa Rankin started a simple blog in 2009 to document her personal quest to integrate all the fragmented facets of her being.

I love the idea of integrating all the fragmented facets of one’s being! I’ve wondered before whether the reason why an office job is not right for me has less to do with the work and more do with my compulsion to shed parts of myself to make it easier to fit into bland office environments. As Liz Lemon said so beautifully, “My work self is suffocating my life me”.

It reminds me of a time last year when I was taking a wonderful class called “Creative Thinking and the Power of Ideas” and we were talking about the need to invest personally in your work to come up with the most meaningful and creative ideas – I got so excited that I scribbled in giant letters across a page in my diary “TAKE MY WHOLE SELF TO WORK”. It occurred to me that I shouldn’t have to leave the creative and slightly silly Sarah at home, and in fact she might be the secret to my success in the office.

This idea resonated so deeply that I ended up writing about it in my final essay and found some fascinating parallels with Marx’s theory of alienation.

I will happily keep reading Lissa Rankin’s powerhouse of personal integration at www.owningpink.com and see whether that might just be the unexpected key to avoiding being a corporate sell-out.

2 thoughts on “What if I just need to reunite my fragmented being?

  1. Pingback: The Artist in the Office – can a book change everything « The secret dairy of an (almost) corporate sell-out

  2. Pingback: What if I just need to reunite my fragmented being? « Structured play for grown-ups

Leave a Reply

